Attleborough
New Mill towermill

Contact

Drainage Windpumps
Steam Mills

Attleborough New Mill was a 5 storey tower mill that stood to the southwest of the town and to the east of the Hargham Road and ran three pairs of stones. The mill had 4 double shuttered sails, each with 9 bays of 3 shutters and a boat shaped cap with a gallery.
A steam mill with a 12hp condensing steam engine and a beam engine housed in an adjacent building on the site drove an additional four pairs of stones and a flour mill. The complex was known as New Mills.

New Mills, Attleborough, Norfolk. To be Sold, with possession at Michaelmas next, the above Steam and Wind Mills, driving 7 pairs of stones, together with residence. Apply to Mr. George Wells, Attleborough.
The Miller - 5th May 1879


To Let
With Possession at Michaelmas next
THE NEW MILLS, ATTLEBOROUGH, Norfolk A modern Brick-Tower Windmill driving three pairs of stones, also a newly & substantially brick built & slated Steam Flour Mill with 12 horse power condensing Steam Engine to drive four pairs of Stones.
The Residence is built of white brick & slated & contains entrance hall & staircase, 3 sitting rooms, 6 bedrooms, w.c. & landing, kitchen, store room & cellar.
The Outbuildings comprise stables, cart sheds & Granaries. There is also a Miller’s Cottage near the above containing 2 sitting rooms, 3 bedrooms, dressing room, 2 kitchens & outbuildings.
The Mills with Residence, Outbuildings & Miller’s Cottage stand on about 2a. 1r. 0p. of land tastefully laid out in flower & kitchen gardens.
There is a pump of excellent water on the premises; also a reservoir. The extensive business in connection with these mills has been carried on by Mr. George Wells, who is retiring at Michaelmas next.
Apply to Mr. Robert BALDRY, Land Agent & Auctioneer, Tombland, Norwich.
Lynn Advertiser - 25th June & 2nd July 1881


To be Let. A modern brick Tower Windmill, driving three pairs of stones, also a brick built and slated steam flour mill, with 12 horse power condensing steam engine to drive four pairs of stones. Called the New Mills, Attleborough, Norfolk. The business has been carried on by Mr. George Wells who is retiring at Michaelmas.
The Miller - 1st August 1881

To Millers, Carters & Others
Attleborough, Norfolk
Robert Baldry has received instructions to Sell by Auction on Tuesday 16 January 1883, the excellent TRADE UTENSILS & other Effects of Mr. George Wells, Miller, Hargham Road, Attleborough (under Bill of Sale) comprising … mare, cob, wagon millers cart … The Trade Utensils consist of 200 corn sacks, 5 sack barrows, 2 pairs of excellent scales with iron weights, 2 pairs of wood blocks with ropes, bolting cloths, mill bills, bushel measures, sieves, stove & pipe & other effects.
Sale to commence at 11 o’c.
Auctioneer’s Office, Tombland, Norwich.

Norfolk Chronicle - 6th & 13th January 1883

Kelly's directory of 1892 listed Arthur Cook as millwright & hardware dealer and shortly after, he took over the running of the mills with his son. This arrangenment did not last long and according to Kelly's of 1900, it appears Arthur had left his son Herbert to run the mills, while Arthur was listed as millwright and china dealer in both 1900 and 1904. However by 1904, Herbert Cook was no longer listed as running the mill as it had been taken over by Henry Boast.


For Sale. Windmill, also engine, hurst and stones. Present occupier forty years now retiring. Apply to A. Andrews, Attleborough, Norfolk.
The Miller - 5th March 1900

On the 28th ult. A steam mill owned by Mr. A.H. Boast on Hargham Road, at Attleborough, in Norfolk, was found in the early hours of the morning to be ablaze, and although the local brigade was soon on the spot, they could do nothing to save the building, which was reduced to a shell, but the flames were prevented spreading to the residence, the stables, and a windmill close by.
The Miller - 6th April 1908

Mill Fire at Attleboro’
Early on Friday morning (27 March) a serious fire broke out on the premises of Mr. H.A. Boast, miller & merchant, Hargham Road, Attleborough, resulting in the total destruction of a steam mill and the adjacent granaries. The outbreak was first discovered by the owner (Mr. Boast) at 1 am. When the buildings which were situate about 100 yards from the house were well alight. A message was at once despatched to Mr. Harry Smith (captain of the fire brigade) and although the firemen were quickly on the spot with the Attleborough manual, the mill and granaries were apparently doomed from the outset ….
A portion of a windmill standing only a few yards distant was somewhat scorched, but as a slight breeze was fortunately blowing in an opposite direction it suffered no serious damage. … … nothing could be done to save the contents of the mill as the whole building was well alight before the discovery was made. … ... total damage is estimated at £1000 … insured in the Royal Insurance Company.

Dereham & Fakenham Times - 4th April 1908

A Tower Mill at Attleborough with power plant and trade premises came under the hammer last month and was withdrawn at £550.
The Miller - 2nd May 1910

SALES by W.S. Hall, WYMONDHAM & Watton
Michaelmas 1911 Town Hall, Wymondham
Hargham Road
Attleborough
Thursday October 5th
SALE of TWO FREEHOLD RESIDENCES, Brick Tower windmill and extensive Premises, for Mrs. Boast.
Solicitors Messrs. Wiltshire & Sons, Great Yarmouth.

Dereham & Fakenham Times - 9th September 1911

On April 3, a windmill at Attleborough, carried on by Mr. H. A. Boast, was found to be in flames near the cap, and the fire burned downwards, through all the floors until everything within it was consumed. How the fire originated is not known.
The Miller - 6th May 1912

O.S. Map 1884 - 1890
O.S. Map 1884 - 1890 showing New Mill standing just to the northeast of Hargham Road postmill
Image produced from the www.old-maps.co.uk service with permission of Landmark Information Group Ltd. and Ordnance Survey

Kelly's 1879: George Wells, miller & corn merchant, New Mills

May 1879: Mill advertised for sale

June 1881: Mill advertised to be let due to the retirement of George Wells, miller

January 1883: Effects of George Wells, miller, advertised for sale by auction

1888: Andrews Bros. (wind & steam)

O.S. map 1884-90: New Mill (Corn)


1890: Arthur Andrews, miller

Kelly's 1896: Arthur Cook & Son, millers, (wind & steam) New Mill

Kelly's 1900: Herbert Cook, miller, (wind & steam) & corn merchant, New Mill

Kelly's 1904: Henry Arthur Boast, miller (wind & steam) & corn merchant, manufacturer of pure whole wheat meal, dealer in poultry meal, greaves & c. New Mill

Friday 27th March 1908: Steam mill destroyed by fire

1912: H.A. Boast, miller

3rd May 1912: Mill destroyed by fire

Kelly's 1912: Henry Arthur Boast, corn merchant, New Mill

If you have any memories, anecdotes or photos please let us know and we may be able to use them to update the site. By all means telephone 01263 713658 or

Nat Grid Ref TM04469472
Top of Page

Copyright © Jonathan Neville 2006